The Committee is responsible for developing guidance and validation rules that can prevent or detect inconsistencies or errors in XBRL data filed with the SEC. The Committee focuses on data quality issues that adversely affect data consumption and analysis and prioritizes issues based on input from users. The Committee provides an open collaborative process with stakeholders through exposure of its proposed guidance and validation rules for public comment. Members of the Committee include representatives from software providers, data aggregators, institutional investors, the accounting profession and academia. To contact the Data Quality Committee email The Committee’s key activities include:

  • Obtaining input through public exposure of its proposed guidance and validation rules for a sixty day period and incorporating the input, as appropriate, in the final approved guidance and  validation rules.
  • Providing progress updates to SEC staff and input to FASB staff to aid in simplifying and improving the US GAAP Taxonomy.
[ww_widget id="11438"]

Committee Members

Lou Rohman, Merrill Corporation (Chair)

Chase Bongirno, Toppan Vintage

Emil Efthimides, Bloomberg

Pranav Ghai, Calcbench

Emily Huang, idaciti

Craig Lewis, Vanderbilt University

Sarah Powell, S&P Global Market Intelligence

Campbell Pryde, XBRL US, Inc

Mohini Singh, ACA, CFA Institute

Steve Soter,

Amit Varshney, Credit Suisse HOLT

Permanent Observers

Louis Matherne, FASB

Bartek Czajka, IASB